About the Test

What is PTE?

PTE stands for Pearson Test of English. It is one of the English language tests used for admission processing and immigration.

Types of PTE Test

There are two types which are;

  • PTE Academic
  • PTE General

PTE Academic assesses the real life English skills you will need at university and living abroad. The tests are integrated in a way that reflects real life settings as well as testing academic skills. It is usually required for Australian immigration.

PTE General

  • This is not accepted for visa applications.
  • It is designed to reward positive achievements in English language. It integrates listening, reading, speaking and writing skills and focuses on assessing the ability of communicating in English rather than test-taking skills.
  • It is used in the assessment of communicative ability.
  • Accepted by universities, ministries of education and employers as proof of English language proficiency.

Where and When can one take the Test?

Testing takes place in over 200 locations around the world with flexible dates running 363 days a year. To find out about test centres around the world, click HERE

Levels of PTE General Test

There are 6 levels of the PTE General test:

Foundation level and Level 1: This measures basic English skills. The examiners expect straightforward, spoken and written English. It is basically to measure the sufficiency of English language necessary for survival in everyday situations with familiar and routine matters.

Level 2 and level 3; These tests are designed for test takers with intermediate English for practical use in study, work, travel and other everyday purposes.

Level 4 and level 5; This is designed for those applying for higher education in English speaking countries and for professional purposes.

 Test day

You will be required to come to the test centre with your valid passport as ID. Results are then made available within 5 days after testing date.

Enter your keyword